Region   Region/Disctrict   Type   Arrival Departure People

Cister Route

Cister Route - Catalonia news

This route was created on 1989 and it’s one of the most complete in the Catalan cultural offer. The regions: Alt Camp, Conca de Barberà and Urgell are the ones that have Cistercians monasteries, temples that were founded in XII century and they are known because they were the official mausoleum of the kings inAragonKingdomfor more than 300 years.

In Vimbodí and Poblet (La Concade Barberà) is situated the Poblet Monastery, the biggest of the entire route and the only one that still has a monk community. It was founded in 1150 and it developed his activity without problems until 1853. The confiscation stopped its activities until 1940. This year the monks returned to the monastery and started an important process of restoration and preservation. This active monastery is one of the biggest inEurope and it was declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Santes Creus Monastery, situated in Aiguamúrica (Alt Camp), was founded in 1150 and is the only one that reflexes better a way of construction which follows bernardian manners. Nowadays, there’s no monastic live, because a lot of monks were expelled in 1835. So it’s a unique opportunity to enjoy a visit in every single place of this Cistercian place and know all the legends about the monastery.

Vallbona Monastery, situated in Vallbona de les Monges (Urgell) is the only feminine monastery in the route and it has conserved the community for more than 850 years without a break. The first notices of this little monastery date in 1150 but it wasn’t until 1176 when it was full integrate into the Cistercian order.

More information



Latest tweets



Fiesta de Sant Antoni de Ascó